24-25 January 2024 - Hosted by Stellenbosch University, South Africa


It is with great pleasure that we announce the 32 nd Southern African Universities Power Engineering Conference (SAUPEC 2024). This flagship Southern Africa regional conference will be hosted by the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Stellenbosch University in conjunction with the South African Institute of Electrical Engineers (SAIEE). SAUPEC brings together experts from the industry, academics and students in engineering, computer science and information technology to present research papers, network, and expand the fraternity that has been built as part of the SAUPEC legacy.

Closing date for paper submissions is 06 November 2023


We invite you to submit original research papers in any area of power engineering, including but not limited to:

Topics of Interest:

  • Power System Analysis, Planning, Operation, and Control
  • Industry 4.0 and Sustainable Energy Power System
  • Data Science Applications to Power System
  • Internet of Things (IoT) in Power System
  • Smart Grids, Microgrids, Utility Applications and Virtual Power Plants
  • Business Model for Smart Grids and Microgrids
  • Power System Dynamics, Stability and Modeling
  • Industrial Automation, Mechatronics and Robotics
  • Advanced Metering Infrastructure and Control Center Applications
  • Electrical Machines and Drives
  • Power Electronics and Energy Conversion
  • Emerging Technologies in Power Systems
  • Transmission, Distribution and Reticulation Networks
  • HVDC and High Voltage Engineering
  • Protection, Relaying and System Automation
  • Lightning Protection of Power and Transportation Systems
  • Power System Security and Risk Analysis
  • Cyber-physical Energy Systems and Cyber-security
  • Power Assets and Risk Management
  • Power Quality, Reliability and Condition Monitoring
  • Load Modelling and Demand Side Management
  • Energy Efficiency, Conservation and Savings
  • Renewable Energy Sources, Energy Storage, Devices and Systems
  • Electric Vehicles and Transportation Electrification
  • Distributed and Embedded Generation
  • Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) and Electromagnetic Interference (EMI)
  • Power Systems Communication
  • Energy Markets, Economics, Tariffs, Grid Codes and Policies
  • Power Engineering Education


Prospective authors are invited to submit high-quality papers in the above research fields. Papers, with maximum length of six pages, are to be prepared in accordance with the IEEE format available on the conference website. Authors must upload their papers to the Paper Submission website: 

The paper template is available at

  • Note: The above paper template is for final papers

The paper submission website:

To submit your paper, you must create an account on the EasyChair website. If you have already created an account on the EasyChair website, you will be required to login before you may submit a paper.


Full papers will be assessed by at least two reviewers in a peer double-blind review. Authors names should not appear on the submitted paper for the review. Papers accepted by the review panel will be published in the conference proceedings. Papers not accepted by the review panel may be presented as posters but will not be included in the proceedings. The full review policy is available on the conference website. Accepted papers will be submiited for inclusion into IEEE Xplore subject to meeting IEEE Xplore's scope and quality requirements.


The full conference program will be made available on the conference website.


  • General Chair : Prof Maarten Kamper
  • Publication Chairs : Dr Justice Chihota and Prof Bernard Bekker
  • Publicity Chairs : Dr Arnold Rix, Dr Fred Mwaniki, Dr Armand du Plessis, and Mr Christo Nicholls
  • Conference secretariat: Mrs. Gerda Geyer (


  • Chair : Dr Johan Strauss (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Co-chair : Mr Nelius Bekker (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Member : Dr Nkosinathi Gule (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Member : Dr Rong-Jie Wang (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Member : Dr Karen Garner (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Member : Dr Chantelle Van Staaden (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Dr Udochukwu Akuru (Tshwane University of Technology, South Africa)
  • Dr Akintunde Alonge (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)
  • Dr Oluwagbenga Apata (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)
  • Prof Bernard Bekker (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Dr Pitshou Bokoro (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)
  • Dr Arnold De Beer (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)
  • Dr Armand Du Plessis (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Dr Oliver Dzobo (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)
  • Prof Ivan Hofsajer (University of the Witswatersrand, South Africa)
  • Prof Azeem Khan (University of Cape Town, South Africa)



Wallenberg Conference Centre @ STIAS, Stellenbosch University, 10 Marais Street, Stellenbosch.


The registration fee includes the following:

  • Conference proceedings in electronic format.
  • Lunch and brake refreshments.
  • Gala dinner on 24 January 2024.
The tutorial on 23 January 2024 in the afternoon (including snacks and drinks afterwards) can be booked for an additional R150.

Click here to download the registration form for SAUPEC 2024 (the registration form is in .pdf format) 


01 June 2023 : 1 st Call for papers

06 November 2023 : Paper submission closes

08 December 2023 : Notification of acceptance

16 December 2023 : Camera-ready papers due and registration opens

24-25 January 2024 : Main conference